planning a TdF trip!

Hi people! I haven’t kept the blog updated recently as I couldn’t finish the #30daysofbiking last month, and being so knackered when I got home that it seemed like too much effort to write a blog!

In the meanwhile, it has been decided that me and my best friend (@v_girlracer) are going to the Tour de France (easier to refer to as TdF) from the 7th of July to the end.

Now this might interest you, or it might not. And I’ve already been told we are mad for doing it! Well no one ever described me as sane….

So, where to start?
Buy maps, one big fold out road map and a big spiral detailed map of France. Get highlighters. Green for the start and orange for the finish of each stage (from 7th July onwards!). The exact route hasn’t been confirmed yet, and we are still waiting for it to come through.

Ah forgot to say, we are doing this with very little money! We won’t be booking hotels every night, in fact probably just the last 2 nights!

Now we have highlighted stage starts and finishes – @v_girlracer is brilliant at finding them – and now we have to start our route planning. This means avoiding toll roads, as we simply don’t have the money to pay for them! So it looks like our first leg – Calais to Belfort might well take us through Brussels and Luxembourg! And according to the AA route planner, its quicker than the toll roads!

We wanted to take a campervan, so we could take our bikes, but it looks like it’s too expensive, so we will probably be leaving our bikes at home and travelling in my car. This means tents!

We’ve also looked at rules of the road in France, haven never driven abroad, and found out the stuff we have to take. Reflective jackety things (we have plenty – my Tour of Britain one might come in handy *joke*), a warning triangle (my landlady has one) etc etc.

So today, we are going to start to highlight the routes we are going to take, have a look at booking on the Eurostar, and finding a cheap twin room in Paris for the last 2 nights…. easier said than done!

I’ll probably be blogging about this from now until we get back in July! I’m madly excited to go and do this!

So I’m off out on my bike in a bit, after a coffee, then I’ll be waiting for @v_girlracer to appear. We’ll also have the #giro on, so if you follow me on twitter – @elzrocks – then I’ll be tweeting about that as well.

I’ve also been invited to guest blog on Inklings and Inklings (a wordpress blog) so look out for my tweets!

cheers

@elzrocks and @v_girlracer (best mates for 24 years!)

ciao

Leave a Reply

