Aim To Achieve 

Finally I can announce that I’m to be an ambassador for CSCycle Coaching. I’m really quite excited, as this gives me the ways to achieve more than what I can do on my own. 

This means more guidance in what I’m doing, more idea of how to train, coaching on my novice skills, where I can aim for and ideas of how to go about it. I’ve had sessions with Caroline before, usually over around the fire roads of Swinley, or pre riding some cx courses with her.

Why do I need coaching? Because I want to get better, and be more competitive at cyclocross. Skills sessions take me through putting ideas into practice, to see if I’m learning from being taught. It gives me new ways of looking at issues; remounting and why I’m doing it the way I do, relaxing and learning to focus on riding lines, when to commit.

Sessions around Swinley help with aerobic training. Especially today with some nice short sharp hills on hardpack gravel/shale mix. It’s always different conditions there too, with the wind funnelling along the fire roads it makes for some cutting headwind especially at this time of year. Twice today I caught myself out, firstly with not committing to a line that I was on, secondly also not commuting to a line that looked like it ran into deep mud (it probably was rideable but I got a nice soaked foot when I braked and put my foot down whilst laughing my head off). Caroline questions why I did what I did and gives me more helpful advice on how to ride it. I know I’ve got better than I was last year, especially with following lines.
There’s a massive variety of terrain in a fairly small area, several sections that can get very boggy, and lots of trails to ride around it too. It’s always fun, but I always come away from it feeling like I’ve had a good workout and having learnt things. I like to question myself on why I’m doing things like I do, and it helps hugely to have a coach who understands this, as well as answer my endless questions!

Off camber grass banks – pic by Caroline Stewart

So. What’s next? Some turbo time (kindly lent for a breif period of time to me by i-Ride). Cadence sessions (currently I’m terrible, always grinding away in a bigger gear) and attack intervals. It’s a lot to work on for someone that is still a novice but whereas before I would do stuff blind with not much of an idea, at least now I can use what I’m learning to my advantage.
I’ve got the last few races of the season coming up, Lovecrossed, Abingdon, London CX Team Champs, and strangely, Battle on the Beach. Helen Wyman’s clinic and the Tour of Flanders sportive round out the rest of it before the end of spring.

Lots to work on, lots to do. I’m always keen to try new things, and it helps that Caroline understands that.

Fingers crossed eh?

Follow and talk to CSCycle Coaching on social media via the following links:

Facebook

Twitter @CSCCoaching 

Instagram
Website
 

#keepsmiling 

2 thoughts on “Aim To Achieve 

Leave a Reply

